Digging for Vongole (Feb 27 2016)

DSC05936The portable loo is out. It’s a toilet seat with lid that fits over a 5 gallon bucket and has been riding in the toilet (closet) all this time but here it comes. Hidden by our chairs at the corner of the palapa, Big Dog has already used it multiple times, sitting out in the open. For me, that is out of the question. The pit toilet out there is pretty gross but at least it is private and I don’t have to deal with anything afterwards.

In the morning, the water is glassy calm so we kayak around the island at the tip of the sand spit. The water around the rocks is home to a myriad of fish. Seagrasses provide home to more.

On shore, German daytrippers have arrived and they are enjoying the beach boisterously. No kitesurfers today…yet.

The same vendors we saw in Escondida come around to this beach, too, with blankets, food items, handicrafts. They probably do the entire Bahia.

I read, squeeze oranges, make scallop ceviche… And then the hordes start arriving. First, a trailer from BC asks if they can park between our palapa and Aaron’s. I tell them they have another vehicle parked there, but just then Aaron and Don return and give them the okay. So now, the new intruders are right next to our palapa! Why?! There is an untaken one on the other side, as well as other un-palapa’d places with more space.. Why did they have to squeeze into this space? This sort of crowding out for no reason drives me a bit crazy.

DSC05923“I’m going to go dig for clams,” I say and go to the tip of the sand spit. The breathing tubes are actually connected to some kind of worm but the clams are not hard to find. You run your fingers through the sand until you hit something. Big Dog is good at it and gets more than half of the entire stash of clams.

“I think we have enough for vongole pasta!” I tell him, happily.

By the time we are ready for our sunset walk, the place is very crowded on the south side. A truck camper has wedged itself on the other side of our palapa and these people have set up between their truck and Sprockets so we can hear every single word they are saying.

There’s another cove on the south end – Playa La Perla. It’s got bigger palapas and is completely deserted. Alright, so the beach is not as nice, but I’d rather have the space. Inexplicably, everyone is on the main El Requeson camp area, though. Even the tent campers are on the far south side. Maybe they feel there is safety in numbers but all during the time we’ve been in Mexico, I’ve never felt unsafe.

Back at Sprockets, The Intruders are having a loud and animated conversation with another couple – right in front of our palapa! Once again, I can hear every word. They finally leave when I start grilling meat, but the yakety-yak continues through our dinner and beyond. What I wouldn’t give for some quiet and Larry’s lovely harp music!

Author: ontheroadwithsprockets

I've been traveling since I was born -- the first big trip was before I was two, across the Pacific, from my native Japan to Los Angeles on a cargo ship. There have been many journeys since then, through many continents and cultures.

Leave a Reply

