Welcome to the Jungle (May 29 2015)

nasties14The 2nd leg of the journey went as smoothly as the first, with a brief stop at JW’s office in Eureka to drop off the box of 2-buck chuck for his wife (who had discovered the break-in), then on to Arcata.

The yard had turned into a jungle! With nasturtiums completely taking over the back entry – the path, outside, the walls on both sides of the path, the gate – and I had to hack my way through to get in. The yard was covered in weeds and grass 4 to 5 feet high. Yep. The place sure looked vacant!

But the break-in was really weird. B said there were towels on the floor and dishes in the sink. She washed the towels but I knew one of them was my floor mat. The dishes were in a square tub and she just took them out and brought them back as was but the dishes didn’t look at all dirty. Of course I washed them, but it was almost as if someone had come in, dried off, eaten with our dishes and utensils and then gone away to wash them and bring them back. Very bizarre!

brokenwindow2

Author: ontheroadwithsprockets

I've been traveling since I was born -- the first big trip was before I was two, across the Pacific, from my native Japan to Los Angeles on a cargo ship. There have been many journeys since then, through many continents and cultures.

Leave a Reply

